Magna Carta – Seasons – `70 – Dunhill Records

hey all :

ok , here is a request that i think you`ll enjoy. reminiscent to me of early moody blues & other folk/pop psych of the day. very very good LP , enjoy !

“Magna Carta’s second LP was dominated by the 22-minute, nine-part suite “Seasons,” which took up all of side one. “Seasons” was indeed a grand conceptual work inspired by the changing of the seasons. Its laudable ambition apart, it’s pretty ordinary, mild pop-influenced early-’70s British folk-rock. There’s a dated preciousness as it varies the pace slightly from jolly full-band good-time folk-rock and pastoral harmonizing to twee fairytale-like narration and almost pop-like orchestration. The six standard-length songs on side two can strike an almost too-cheerful pop-folk bounce, with soft rock orchestration and harmonies that make it vaguely reminiscent of American sunshine pop at points. Simon & Garfunkel are an obvious influence, too, on songs like “Give Me No Goodbye” (overlaid with slight sitar licks), “Scarecrow,” and “Elizabethan,” though Magna Carta could make Simon & Garfunkel sound almost heavy in comparison. The closing “Airport Song,” which was plucked from the LP as a shot for a hit single, goes furthest into pop with its bossa nova beat and easy listening arrangement, though the Simon & Garfunkel influence in the vocal harmonies is nearly overwhelming. This pretty undistinguished pop-folk-rock effort was paired with their third album, Songs from Wasties Orchard, on a 1999 single-disc CD reissue that also included historical liner notes.” – AMG

  • Magna Carta – Seasons – `70 – Dunhill Records – 320 kbps
  • “ALL TRAX FROM WAX” transferred by da` shaman – 2007
  • sorry lp cover not fit to scan

  • 1. Prologue
  • 2. Winter Song
  • 3. Spring Poem
  • 4. Spring Song
  • 5. Summer Poem
  • 6. Summer Song
  • 7. Autumn Song
  • 8. Epilogue
  • 9. Wintersong (Reprise)
  • 10. Going My Way (Road Song)
  • 11. Elizabethan
  • 12. Give Me No Goodbye
  • 13. Ring Of Stones
  • 14. Scarecrow
  • 15. Airport Song

download — here —


~ by akashaman on April 30, 2007.

9 Responses to “Magna Carta – Seasons – `70 – Dunhill Records”

  1. Are you planning to continue your “70’s one-hit wonder” uploads?If you are, i reccommend the group REDBONE; otherwise perhaps the rarer album of PILOT (the one with the track “Canada” or JIGSAW (the one with the track “Stop the show”.

  2. Hi Mr. Akashaman`s Kosmos.The rar file is corrupted. Only have 7 tracks and not 15 like says in the blog. One of they “Seasons” has a 22:17 minuts.Could you put the good one? Thanks.

  3. First time on your blogsite. Nice job! Been looking for this one for quite a while. Used to hear “Seasons” infrequently back in the day, and never forgot it — or found it, for that matter. Thanks!

  4. Thanks for this album. Brilliant! I’m listening to it now and there’s a hint of T-Rex in there on one of the tracks. Thanks again.

  5. Seasons is beautiful.

  6. HiThanks for several of your posts(Tommy James, Tommy Roe, Spanky, etc…), nice blog, waiting for Dizzy’s Tommy Roe if possibleKeep the good job.Carlos

  7. Hey AkashamanWonderful site you have here, thank you for the Magna Carta lp…..I think I’ll check out some of the other obscure samples listed on your blog.Keep up the good work.

  8. the seasons track is comprised of the missing tracks.its all there my friend.aka`

  9. searching so long for magna carta ‘s “no truth in the rumour” but nobody seems to have it 😦 , anyway thx for there seasons 😉

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: